Petition to Companies Who Create Games

I would like to start a petition to all companies that make games… can you please stop releasing anything for a year or two so I can catch up with what I currently have on my plate?  Let me look at the list of games I have barely touched and would like to play through so everyone can understand how screwed I currently am:

**But first… I have a message for my wife:  Honey, if you are reading this, please stop now and go shopping for a new outfit, or shoes or something.  I know you conceptually know that I have far too many games, but if you ever see this list I’ll never be able to convince you that I *NEED* to buy a game like Borderlands 2 when it first comes out…  so go buy something please.**

Now that I have that out the way, it is time to share my shame with the world!

Games I would like to play and own but have barely touched:

Guild Wars 2 (first character is almost 80… but I want one of each class…. well, except for a warrior)

Borderlands 2

Transformers: Fall of Cybertron

Diablo 3 (actually I have played quite a bit and have a max level character but I would love to play more)

Orcs Must Die 2

Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine

Assassin’s Creed (All 4 of them, barely played the first one and loved it.  Just need to go back)

Binding of Issac (played the crap out of it but haven’t had time for the Wraith of the Lamb expansion)

Dead Space 1 & 2

Mass Effect 3 (maybe 1/3 of the way through by best guesstimate)

Dragon Age 2 (again, maybe 1/3 of the way through)

X3: Albion Prelude

Fallout: New Vegas

Skyrim (barely touched the main story-line but played a ton of side-quests already)

Batman: Arkham City

And that’s just the PC games… here are a few others I own that I want to find time to play on Xbox 360 or PS3:

La Noire

Alan Wake

Final Fantasy XIII

Red Dead Redemption

Wow… now that I look at the list, I wish I’d sent myself out shopping before I wrote it.  And these are only the big name games that I haven’t played.  There are a bunch of great indie games and other odds and ends that I want to play as well.  I seriously need to either get a great paying job that lets me play video games all day (they exist right?) or I need to hit the lottery so I can stop working and have more free time for gaming.  I mean, the alternative would be to stop buying new games when they are super cheap on Steam… and who has the willpower for that?

Please tell me that I’m not the only one… I would suggest starting a support group for people who compulsively buy games even though they don’t have the time to play them… but that’d only leave me with even less time to play Borderlands 2… or Guild Wars 2… or Orcs Must Die 2… or some other game whose title ends it 2…

3 responses to “Petition to Companies Who Create Games

  1. I may make my own list. It’s not as filled with current games, but it’s just as filled up. I’ve started seeing my game collection more like my book collection. Sure, I’ve played some of them, but the majority of the collection is stuff I have yet to read/play. I’m okay with that, though (how my wife thinks about it, though… who knows…).

    • Actually, I have a bunch of older games too… this was just the list of games I have semi-ordered in my brain that I want to get to… And don’t even get me started on my backlog of books!

  2. Oh yeah, we are completely screwed. I know for a fact that I’ll never get to all of the games that I would like to play. It’s lucky for me that there are so many genres that I don’t like. But there are still too many of the ones that I do!

Leave a comment