Why I don’t play Foundry missions nearly enough

So for those of you who have no idea what the Foundry is, here is a quick primer.  Star Trek Online has a toolset to let you create your own missions.  Want to fight an oncoming wave of borg?  Bam, create it.  Want to recreate an epic space battle from DS9?  Bam, create it.  Want to import a bunch of X-Wings and Imperial Star Destroyers and have an epic glorious battle to find out which franchise would actually win in a space battle?  Bam, yeah… no way in hell.  

There are tons of really cool things that people have created in the Foundry.  Myself, I’ve dabbled a bit here and there but never really spent enough time to figure out what is going on.  I love reading fan fiction and the Foundry should be a no-brainer for me to love and enjoy, right?  Yeah, not so much.

So why don’t I play them do you ask?  It’s simple.  I’m a spoiler little prick.  Every time I sit down and start playing a Foundry mission I ask myself the question “What’s in it for me?”  And the answer is… just about nothing.  There’s a wrapper mission out there that lets you play 3 Foundry missions for a small reward.  I understand that they can’t make the rewards better for the wrapper mission due to all of the people who made “console clicker” missions that only take five seconds to complete.

I don’t have a ton of gaming time.  When I do sit down to game, I want to make some progress.  Whether that be leveling a character, getting a few quests done towards some goal, or running an instance with a group.  If I spend an hour running a Foundry mission, while I may get a fantastic story (notice I said “may”) I also might just waste a precious hour of my gaming time on a meh mission with next to no rewards.

I’m not going to pretend like I have some glorious plan to fix it either.  That’s why Cryptic is the developer and I’m just the stupid gamer that they keep trying to nickle and dime to death.  Oops.. there’s that Lock Box irritating I’ve been missing for a couple weeks.  

Yeah, still a little cranky about the old boxes that lock.  Still haven’t bought any keys for ANY of the lockboxes and I have a lifetime sub so I could even spend my “free” C-Store point on them if I wanted to.  Would I like to fly around in the Ferengi ship?  Oh hell yeah!  But I’m not going to monetarily support the lock box ripoff just to get the new shiny.  If only more people wouldn’t whine about the lock boxes at the same time they are swiping their credit cards… Cryptic or more likely Perfect World would have gotten the message and stuck with selling us things on the C-Store directly.

Anyways, to sub it all up:  I wish there was a way to get rewarded for the time I want to spend in the Foundry… and lock boxes are the devil!

 

Image

Leave a Reply

