Thoughts on Guild Wars and the Hall of Monuments now that I’m “Done”

After dragging my feet for the last couple of HoM points, I sold off  almost everything I had of value to make the final push for 30/50 last night.  I kept almost logging off to go to bed but then someone would respond to buy something or post in trade that they wanted something I had… needless to say, I sold the last items I need to go over the top to a character by the name of Armen The Guide.  He made my night so much that I dumped a few random odds and ends I had on my that I wouldn’t be needing anymore.  I dashed over to get my Destroyer weapon created, and then trimphantly strolled into my Hall of Monuments to place the final weapon on the stand.

I can’t remember the last time I felt so accomplished for playing a game… and this is one of the huge successes that ArenaNet has made.  I think the Hall of Monuments is pure genius on ArenaNet’s part.  Reward the hell out of your existing player base and try to give them a good incentive to buy your new game.  I also have to give them serious credit for not using this as a cash grab to entice people to buy the transmutations for the HoM weapons.  I just read the other day that they will be free to transmute but they’re still working on exactly how that will work.

It also has massively increased the number of people logging in to Guild Wars numero uno.  I have all of the expansion packs for Guild Wars but barely played more than a few missions of each.  The idea of the game always appealed to me, but the learning curse after a few missions would always piss me off and I’d bail.

My biggest criticism for this game is that without reading the wiki (and I mean really digging in to it) it’s really easy to have a completely awful build or just completely not know that you can upgrade weapons or armor in certain ways.  I’m really hoping that they fix this as much as possible in Guild Wars Part Duex.  I’ve always hated that for many MMO’s you have to constantly alt-tab out to a wiki to have an real clue on what you should be doing.

The mood in Guild Wars is certainly exciting… everyone is trying to get the last few points for either 30/50, 50/50 or some other random stopping point they have decided on.  There are many stories of people logging in and dumping all of their accumulated wealth on random bystanders or guildmates.  I know that the original Guild Wars will stick around for a bit, but many people (myself included) don’t expect to play the orignal very much in the coming future.  The closest thing I can associate it to is being on a server at the very end right before they pull the plug on a title.

I plan on logging in to Guild Wars just prior to Head Start and maybe even before the proper launch just to see if anything crazy is going on… I fully expect something exciting to happen, but I guess we’ll see.

2 responses to “Thoughts on Guild Wars and the Hall of Monuments now that I’m “Done”

  1. A game that relies on wikis and specific “builds” is one of my biggest pet peeves. If I have to look up to see how someone else is playing in order to enjoy playing the game myself, I feel screwed over. I’m playing MY OWN game, not anyone elses. If I can’t figure out a good build on my own, then it’s just not worth it.

  2. Pingback: Ready or Not, Guild Wars 2 is Fast Approaching « Casual Aggro

Leave a Reply

